Sketchbook Project 2013 – Wexford Main Street

The deadline for the most recent Sketchbook Project was last Tuesday 13th January.  I made it, just in time.  I really liked doing this one too- wish I had more time to draw.  And sew.  And knit.  Andandand.  Practice makes perfect after all!

front cover

map

close up boots

close up corcorans

south

north

fold out back

This time I did a very long drawing of a section of North Main Street in Wexford;  (Last time I wrote a wee story).  I’ve planned on drawing both Abbey Street and Capel Street in Dublin for a while; I’ve a crazy-assed plan for the drawings (if they ever materialise), and came up with the idea that this could be done as my sketchbook.  I decided to take some photos and spend the few days I’d off over Christmas drawing.  But, the day I went to take the photos of Capel Street was miserable- proper Irish yuck.  So miserable that I decided that Wexford Main Street would do.  Consequently, on Christmas Day I told Sam that he had no choice but to accompany me down town with Sunny for her walk.  While I took photos on my phone, Sam made small-talk with a crazy dude who didn’t bat an eyelid at what I was doing but told Sam all about his finding a wallet with €500 “just there” and how he didn’t bring it to the Gardai “thieving civil servants, the lot”.  Thanks Sam!

sam shaws

sam

I stuck a Sam and Sunny in for good measure- the only bit of colour in the otherwise basic line drawings.

I scanned the entire thing in high res; someday I’ll sit down and piece it together.  Someday.  Ya know, that day in the future.

back cover

5 Responses to “Sketchbook Project 2013 – Wexford Main Street”


  1. 1 Katie January 20, 2013 at 09:12

    Nice job Amy! Really glad I got to see this sketchbook in person too last week!
    The bits with Sam ‘n’ Sunny are great. 🙂
    The second and third photos down are really interesting looking, where the sketchbook as standing up right and zig zagging…you get a sense of a 3D winding street..very clever. x

  2. 2 Conor Cullen January 21, 2013 at 13:47

    Great stuff Amy! Would love to see the full thing!

  3. 4 petra January 21, 2013 at 23:45

    wow! absolutely fab! makes me think about attempting & even perhaps completing the next sketchbook project. it’s definitively a kick up the bum! 😉


  1. 1 Sketchbook Project 2014 | onlinesketchpad Trackback on February 8, 2014 at 17:16

All comments welcome:-)




Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other subscribers

Categories