Cushions for Clara and Emma

I made some cushions recently; for Clara and Emma.

Clara1

CL

LA

A

back1

Batkid

PJ superherosThis was a commission; I was told that daddy was a big Superman fan, so if I fancied incorporating this in some way…  I didn’t want to go all-out Superman, so instead I just went superhero.  The buttons were an ebay purchase; I love them!  I didn’t even use them all…

photo

Pow!

All the fabrics are mostly basic cottons I had in my collection; the Space Police fabric is from a pair of charity shop curtains I bought years ago.  The Care Bears fabric came from a Walmart in Arizona somewhere (or maybe Texas?), and the Dr. Seuss was a present from New Zealand.

********

Emma’s cushion is a house-warming present- she recently took the plunge and became a home-owner.

Emma

 

Back

 

Tree

Leaves

 

Buttons

emma upclose

 

labelWhile I like the design, this cushion didn’t turn out as well as I’d hoped.  The design on the front is situated too close to the edges, so when the pad is inserted, you don’t see all the detail.  Oh well, live’n’learn.  Love the colours though.

Again, most of the fabrics are basic cottons from my collection. The two on the back are vintage; one is from an old skirt I blogged about before, and the other is from a stash of new polyester and nylon (yum!) sheets and pillowcases I got in Wexford at the sale of the contents of an old drapery.

photo 2 (1)

(I also got some classy thermals; 85% chlorofibre minimum I’ll have you know- only for best for me;-). Sunny wanted in on the photo action; she knows where it’s at).

photo 1 (2)

 

 

1 Response to “Cushions for Clara and Emma”


  1. 1 Katie April 3, 2013 at 14:35

    Amazing! They are such lovely cushions. I love the falling leaves on Emma’s one. :-)


All comments welcome:-)

Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

