The Joy of… Knitting….

So, anyone who knows me has probably heard me mention (and probably more than once) that “I don’t like knitting; I find it boring.”  Well, I’ve discovered a flaw in that statement- turns out I DO like knitting!  My previous attempts at knitting were for very plain items that required no pattern and no variation from garter stitch or stocking stitch.  Last March, my attention was drawn to a book by Fiona Goble called…wait for it… Knit Your Own Royal Wedding.  A decision was taken by Tricia and I to knit the characters in this book while on holiday in Cornwall, which was in the week running up to the Royal wedding.  We hadn’t gotten too far by the time we got home, but the bug had bitten me! Turns out I get a real kick out of following a pattern and watching a shape appear on your needles.  And so, I thought I’d post some pictures of the characters so far…

The Queen, resplendent in yellow complete with her Easter bonnet.

Prince Philip

Archbishop Dr. Rowan Williams- I love his knitted beard!

The Queen, Prince Philip and the Archbishop are all finished.  I decided that I was going to knit the costumes of the main players based on what they really wore- the book made a best guess due to it being printed before the wedding.  So the Queen is in her lovely yellow frock (knit to the pattern in the book); Prince Philip has his splendid red blazer on (although I knit this from the pattern too, not realising it was a morning coat); also, unlike the book version, he doesn’t have a cap, just lovely grey hair.  The Archbishop is dressed as per the pattern; I chose not to embroider his glasses on, but to make him more realistic wire ones.

Back view of the completed dolls

I’ve also added a photo of Prince William and his bride Kate, but they’re not finished yet.  I’ve knit Kate a dress to look like the one she actually wore- it took about 6 attempts to get it right.  I’m quite pleased with it so far, but there is some work still to do on it.  William needs a belt!

The as yet unfinished bride and groom.

I also found this animation which uses the knitted characters to recreate the wedding day in motion.  Made me smile!

3 Responses to “The Joy of… Knitting….”


  1. 1 Lisa July 24, 2011 at 10:25

    WOW! these are AMAZING!! Now, did the book mention how to perfectly shape Pippa’s bottom?

  2. 2 Katie August 4, 2011 at 17:57

    The family look brilliant Amy!
    I love the hilarious animation link too!

  3. 3 Anthony October 7, 2011 at 18:02

    Where’s Pippa Middleton…… how does her ass look knitted…
    Love the work Amy….
    Anthony.


All comments welcome:-)

Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Categories


