The finished stripe project

Check ’em out! What the stripes turned into…

Lovely wee booties!

And another view….

Warm winter booties

The baby these are for was born in July.  I knitted the larger size; hopefully they’ll be able to keep his tootsies warm through the winter.  I got the pattern from here, via Ravelry.  Now, they’re a tiny bit wonky- I somehow ended up with more stitches on one side with both boots, but hey, they wouldn’t be one of my projects if they weren’t a bit wonky somewhere!

4 Responses to “The finished stripe project”


  1. 1 Jacki January 7, 2012 at 23:19

    Your booties are lovely! I’m trying to make them and as a novice, I cannot figure how to pick up the stitches along the side of the sole once you have the sole at 12 cm. And not knowing Norwegian either, I thought I’d ask you!! Any help appreciated, thanks.

  2. 2 Amy January 8, 2012 at 12:58

    Thanks Jacki! Now, I’m not too sure how much help I’ll be… I had to ask my expert-at-knitting mother for help at that very point. She showed me how to pick up the stitches by just pushing the needle into any loop at the edge and knitting it, then picking up at the the next loop and so on. You only need one needle for this. She said the gap left between stitches is not too important. The way you make the knitted piece look when you do this feels very unnatural- when all the extra stitches were added, the bootie was a really strange shape, but it begins to make sense as you go along. My mother said its a common way of knitting booties, and if you find that you can’t fit all the extra stitches that the pattern says into the row of picked up stitches, just increase in the next row. And my friend says that they are the best socks her son has- they’re warm, and they really don’t fall off! I hope this is helpful!

  3. 3 Kirstin February 5, 2012 at 22:49

    Hi Jacki, I’m making these booties at the moment but I don’t understand the instructions for decreasing and making the sole. I have tried decreasing just the 10 stitches in the middle which gave me an inverted triangle shape with 25 stiches on one needle and 21 on the other- i figured this was wrong! Then i tried knitting everything and decreasing stitches on either end of the work but this just gave me a huge flap! Can you tell me what I am doing wrong please? Hope you can help!

  4. 4 onlinesketchpad February 6, 2012 at 11:52

    Oh Kirstin, I hope I can help- it’s been so long since I knit them! I’ve gone back over the pattern again to see can I work it out and I can’t remember what shape they took just before decreasing. But I do remember that I didn’t need my Mothers help here so here’s hoping;-) Have you 58 stitches after doing all the picking up and knitting 6 “ridges” (12rows)? After this, you’re doing something like what you did with the 10 stitches in the middle- you knit 31 stitches, then 2 together, then TURN and knit just 9 of the 31 stitches and again knit 2 together. Turn, knit 9 and 2 together, turn, knit 9 and 2 together and so on until 4 stitches are left on the ends of each side (you’re decreasing from the 20-something stitches on each edge, not from the middle). You still should have 10 stitches in the middle. Then cast all 18 stitches off. When I did this, I had more stitches on one side than the other, on BOTH boots, how this happened I don’t know; so I don’t think I could decrease to 4 on both sides. But when they were sewn up they looked fine 🙂
    Good Luck!


All comments welcome:-)

Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Categories


