Covered in Stitches Entry #1

(This post is called #1 which suggests that there’ll be a #2…  OooooOOHhhhh!)

So, #1: Below are some photos of my entry to the Feeling Stitchy competition I wrote about a few weeks ago.  I chose to embroider an original design for the book The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, by Michael Chabon.

I love this book, love love love this book.  Keeping it brief, it’s about two cousins who are thrown together in New York during the Second World War; they create a comic book hero called The Escapist who becomes one of the most popular superheros of the time, and thrusts them into fame.  This teeny synopsis of the book does it no justice; it’s actually about so much more, but I won’t go into it here, just read it for yourself and let me know what you think….

What do I think of the design?  Well, it’s fine I suppose.  It’ll do!  I’m not quite happy with it, but I can’t pinpoint why… perhaps I’ve been looking at it for too long.  Anyway, if you’re interested in seeing it amongst the other entries, it’s here.

4 Responses to “Covered in Stitches Entry #1”


  1. 1 Cécile October 24, 2011 at 22:15

    It looks great! i love the skyscraper. Good luck for the competition!

  2. 2 tillyannie October 24, 2011 at 23:03

    Looks great, Amy. Looking forward to seeing #2.

  3. 3 petra October 25, 2011 at 08:42

    loving the skyscraper & adoring the wee lock!


  1. 1 Covered in Stitches Entry #2 « onlinesketchpad Trackback on November 9, 2011 at 17:45

All comments welcome:-)

Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Categories


