Flowery Laptop Bag

I made this laptop bag as a birthday present for a friend; she recently turned “half of sixty” (her words, not mine).  The fabric is vintage- it’s an old skirt that I got at the Dublin Flea Market a few week back; I plundered it for the fantastic colours and all those lovely flowers…

The lovely skirt before it was recycled

I’m going to wander off on a tangent here and honour the lovely skirt that I cut up for purely selfish reasons. It was completely hand-sewn many decades ago by someone who loved the fabric enough to want to cover half of their person in it.  Look!  Even the waistband and hems were sewn by hand.  It must have taken weeks!  It felt disrespectful cutting it up, but that’s what I did…

(For the record, I did try it on.  It’s so long (or I’m so short) that it just skims the ground when I pull it right up under my bust.  And even pulled that high, I can’t fully close it.  It’s a teeny tiny waisted skirt!)

Anyway, back to the matter in hand; the laptop bag:

I got the lining fabric online from Sew Mama Sew sometime in the last year; I just love their fabrics.  The bag is padded with 1/4″ wadding.  I used ribbon to close the bag for purely practical reasons…  My friend doesn’t own a tape measure and lives in another country, so the bag was made using guesstimates; I wanted to ensure it would definitely close (it does, phew!).

I think it’s pretty:-)

 

5 Responses to “Flowery Laptop Bag”


  1. 1 petra November 2, 2011 at 06:53

    best way to start a very early wednesday; sunrise, cup of coffee & a new onlinesketchpad post!

  2. 2 Katie November 2, 2011 at 19:56

    That is so pretty Amy! Love all the bright colours.
    The lining is so nice too. Do you design duvet covers?
    I’d like one in Bed Size!

  3. 3 Lisa November 12, 2011 at 00:39

    Oh, Amy, it’s gorgeous…. any chance the skirt is now mini up for grabs?

    • 4 Amy November 13, 2011 at 13:46

      Nope, had to cut way too much from it for the bag. It now has a front but no back…. though I suppose that could be rocked in some other interestingly funky way…


  1. 1 Cushions for Clara and Emma | onlinesketchpad Trackback on March 24, 2013 at 23:26

All comments welcome:-)

Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Categories


