Inspiration

Looking at Pearce Street through the glass bell jar of the EVENT HORIZON piece- a vortex in perpetual motion suspended in what looks like water...

When I set up this blog, one of my plans was to write about the interesting exhibitions (and other cultural stuff, inspirational stuff) I see weekly.  But for some reason, I’ve been a bit chicken about sharing this information… (I think it’s because the exhibitions have a deadline, and so are probably over before anyone reads about them.)  Anyway, I’ve been thinking about this a lot in the past week and I wonder if I should choose a day and blog about where I found inspiration during the previous 7 days.  Like “thinking Tuesdays” or “wandering Wednesdays”…(I know, the alliteration needs work; help is welcome)

I’ll begin today anyway with the following:

Mad Art Gallery: A-Z of Unusual Words by Project Twins

Wow, this was great! These guys took 26 unusual words that have fallen out of daily use and created illustrations for them.  I love weird words, and the illustrations to accompany these words are so good, really clever and elegant.  My favourite word they used is Yonderly… If you’re around Dublin City Centre before it ends on Wed 16th, check it out.

Science Gallery: Surface Tension The Future of Water

A really interesting and informative exhibition about the relationship we have with water and a study on the future of water.  My absolute favourite piece here is the Tele-Present Water.  This is a wood and metal hinged sculpture; it is hooked up to a series of mechanical boxes which accept data from a transmitting buoy somewhere in the Pacific Ocean and causes the sculpture to move according to this data.  Basically the sculpture moves in rhythm with the motion of the sea that the buoy is collecting data from.  So if it’s stormy where the bhoy is, then it’s stormy in the gallery.  It’s hypnotic to watch.  I spent ages just staring at it.  If I was to pass this place regularly, I’d pop in just to see how the sea is that day!

The exhibition runs until January 20th 2012.

3 Responses to “Inspiration”


  1. 1 petra November 12, 2011 at 12:01

    tele-present water?! i think i’m in love…..

  2. 2 Lisa November 12, 2011 at 12:58

    like the cross between the sea and.er..a basket.. Uber-cool!!!!


All comments welcome:-)

Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Categories


