Better Late than Never, Perhaps?

I’ve been sitting on these photos for a while, planning to post, but never quite getting around to it.  They’re my photos from the End of the Road Festival 2011 which took place in September- I posted a little animation about it here.  I love this festival.  It’s usually sunny sunny sunny.  The music is always fab; I have come across so many new favourites there.  The food is yum, and the variety is brilliant.  The people are respectful and fun.  The portaloos are… well, as good as one could expect from a portaloo.  And the campsite is clean and not over-crowded and if your friends arrive later than you, there’s always room for them beside you.  Every year I somehow end up adding a different film camera  to the mix of cameras I had the previous year. This year I had a Holga SF, the kit-built pinhole camera, my trusty Lomo Fisheye One (my little baby- I’ve had it for years and it never lets me down), and I also had my phone.   (Last year I had an old leaky Nikon SLR, the Fisheye, my Nikon Coolpix (sadly lost earlier this year) and a Fuji Instax Mini).  I took lots of photos.  Lots n’ lots.  And lucky for you, I’m going to post just lots of them, not lots n’ lots.

So, without further ado:

Our campsite flag

Flag (Holga)

flag in t'wind

I made the flag the day before we went to the festival.  Memo to self: for next years flag, use waterproof paint… (I just used paints I had- the only red I had was gouache.  Gouache doesn’t like dew too much; one dewy night later and the wasp seemed to have developed a life threatening bleed… poor baby)

The Woods Stage

Dancing

The Garden Stage

Pinhole Sunflare

campsite sunset and helium balloon

Crocheted rug, with the Holga...

...with the pinhole...

...and fisheye.

Woodland Library taken with my phone...

...taken with the pinhole camera (can you see the ghost in the centre?)...

...and taken with the Holga.

Pinhole- food stalls

Holga- food stalls and washing line installation

The setting for the festival is in Larmer Tree Gardens in Dorset; and as the name suggests, it’s packed full of trees and gardens… There’s a wooded area with a “secret” acoustic stage; you never know who you’ll see there on the out-of-tune piano.  There is also a forest disco (with genuine disco light-up stage) as well as lots of little art installations which are different every year.

Disco stage

Pinhole -secret stage

A cardboard village in a tree

Close-up

the other side of the Village

The above were wedged in the split in a tree-trunk.  They had little lights inside and some of them had people in-  only visible when you peered in the windows; they looked great at night!

"Peer Here" it said. So I did. Sincere.

...and what "Peer Here" looked like from the side...

A mini door in a tree root.

6 of the "1000 cranes"

Cranes in motion

The 1000 cranes were made and hung to symbolise the need to fight for a world without nuclear weapons- Japanese folklore says that making 1000 cranes can bring about a miracle.  They were hung in the tunnel of trees that is traditionally lit with fairy-lights every year.  Walking through here after sunset is magical.

I spy with my little eye, someone beginning with "P"...

This sign was at the entrance to the Woods stage area.  The lights within were controlled by an old upright piano that had just 5 keys- one for each letter.  I got a group of kids to press each key so I could take this photo.

You may have noticed an odd black shape at the top left corner of some of the holga photos… Well, that’s the insulation tape that I used to tape the batteries into the camera with popping up to say hello.  Oh, the joys of cheapy/free cameras!!  I seem to spend my life trying to fix cameras with insulation tape in some manner or other.  Also, I didn’t take too many photos with the fisheye this year because it was my 4th EOTR festival with that camera; I’ve taken them all before;-)

 

6 Responses to “Better Late than Never, Perhaps?”


  1. 1 Cécile December 7, 2011 at 08:27

    Looks like good fun. The pic; really suits the subject!

  2. 2 Katie December 7, 2011 at 10:11

    Ah they are fab…love the different effects with each camera. Cranes in Motion an Crochet Rug with fisheye are my faves!!!

  3. 3 Lisa December 8, 2011 at 00:56

    I thought it said ‘pee here’.

    These are fab 🙂

  4. 4 Liz December 8, 2011 at 03:03

    The village in the tree. And the little door. Only you would notice something like that. Aw I miss EOTR.

  5. 5 petra December 10, 2011 at 08:46

    when are we going again?!


  1. 1 End of the Road 2012 « Snaps & Cartography Trackback on November 18, 2012 at 18:58

All comments welcome:-)

Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Categories


