Table Mats a-plenty

I’ve had a busy few weeks of making presents for various people.  It feels a little odd, but I’ve decided the best way to blog about all this industry is in separate posts.  So expect a barrage over the next few days…  I’ll begin with the table mats.

These were part of a wedding present for my cousin and her new husband.  I also made napkins to match.  I began by drawing various of my kitchen apparatus, inking them up and tracing over them with dissolvable fabric.  I then used the free stitch function on my sewing machine (a dangerous occupation when you’re as regularly clumsy as I am- I sewed through my finger at one point, breaking the needle in it with my eagerness to remove it from the area… a bloody mess!)  This is the time-consuming part of the whole operation, but I actually really enjoy it.  (I watched a lot of Dexter while sewing this.  The bloody finger was fitting).

I made 6 different designs.  I also sewed the Bride and Grooms names and the wedding date into them.  I used the same fabric as the napkins for the back of the table mats.

I actually made myself three mats first (the plan was for four but I couldn’t decide on what to draw on the fourth.  I procrastinated.  And now it’s consigned to the to-do list of unfinished projects that I never ever seem to finish…  Oh, hopefully some day!)  I used a different pattern for one of them- I wasn’t 100% happy with the lack of theme so I changed it when I came to make my cousins ones.  Not that there’s a theme there either, but there’s no food…

I don’t think I’ll ever figure out how to make all my corners straight.  I measure out the pattern, mark onto the fabric, line it up correctly and neatly and then sew… crookedly.  Maybe if I’d taken lessons at some point in my life- maybe this is something they taught in the Home Ec. classes I was so glad to ditch? I guess I’ll never know!

4 Responses to “Table Mats a-plenty”


  1. 1 Cécile January 1, 2012 at 19:39

    Happy new year!!!!!! All the best in everything and plenty of artistic projects.

    How original your napkins are ! I admire the time you put in it.
    little tip: if you want to get the corners straight, you can cut each corners in square shape… Not really easy to explain, I ‘ll try to send you a sketch or a pic of it. At the same time it’s not easy to get perfect corners with a thick fabric…

  2. 2 Lisa January 1, 2012 at 22:17

    Amy, you put us all to shame. Fanshmastic as always!

  3. 3 Lisa January 1, 2012 at 22:24

    …oh, and do you pin? sounds silly, but I’m a terribly lazy seamstress and have been known to leave it out.. Tacking will also help – boring as all hell but a good excuse to watch Dexter safely and feel like you’re in a Downton Abbey drawing room!

    I know what Cecile means – cut a little square out at each corner once sewn up. When you turn it back inside out,the edges will sit neatly together with less bulk.

    • 4 Amy January 3, 2012 at 23:53

      `Thanks for the tips ladies. I already square off the corners, but honestly, I’m a lazy pinner. I do pin, but I’ll use 3 pins if I can get away with it…


All comments welcome:-)

Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

Categories


