Surprise! It’s War and Peace…

I bought a copy of War and Peace Volume One in a charity shop in November; it was bought with one idea in mind- to make a hollow book as a Christmas present.  I had ideally wanted a Sherlock Holmes book, but the copy of W&P was so pretty I had to choose it.  I walked home wondering was it sacrilege to cut up such a lovely old book… did I have the guts?  Turns out I did.

(In fairness, I did Google the edition I had in my hand- it was a mass-produced edition, it was first published somewhere around 1911, but I think my copy was from about 1926).

(I made a hollow book once before, when I was twelve.  I cut the centre out of a big children’s hardback edition of Lorna Doone which had been a present from an uncle… Thinking back on it, I can’t believe I did this, that the goody-two-shoes I was defaced a present from a relative.  But I did.  And I kept foreign coins in it.  My favourite was my South African Rand.  It has a gazelle or some other deer-like animal on it.  But enough about that).

I glued the outer edges together before beginning to cut.  When done, I glued the inner edges together.  The hollow is  just big enough to put a little Lego mini-figure surprise pack and some South African Rand.

I kept all the pages from the book, I figured I’d use them for something else.  And I did, as you can see in the previous post.  Recycling at it’s best.  Job well done.

3 Responses to “Surprise! It’s War and Peace…”


  1. 1 petra January 5, 2012 at 10:35

    who’s present was it?! 🙂

  2. 2 tillyannie January 6, 2012 at 09:49

    It was mine… and it had pressies in it. Oooo.

  3. 3 thebigfatpeacock January 12, 2012 at 17:32

    And the SA rand…..??


All comments welcome:-)

Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

Categories


