Ye Oldie Cotton Reels and other Treasures

Kinda going off topic here (or not, it’s art supplies related I suppose).  Some photos of some old stuff I bought when in London just before Christmas. Only because they are just so pretty.

Petra was kind enough to take Laura and I to a car-boot sale;  well, I was like a child in the proverbial sweetie shop- I came away with 2 ladybird books, a Blockbusters board game (“I’d like a P please, Bob”), an old game of Donkey (so pretty! a bargain at £1) and a share in a biscuit tin full of cotton reels, old buttons and the like, all for the princely sum of just over a fiver.  I took what I wanted from the tin and left the rest with Petra (I didn’t really have room in my bag for much more than I took- Blockbusters was made in a time when big empty packaging wasn’t considered at all wasteful).  The pink silk thread is my favourite, it’s been transferred onto an older reel of what should be dark brown machine thread- I’m going to use it for embroidering (I have a project in mind for it, more on that when it hits the top of my to-do list).  But it was the cough sweet tin that caught my eye first, it’s full of pop fasteners and bra hooks; I just loved the design of it.  And I shall add my collection of these type items to it, keeping it’s recommissioned purpose alive.

The cough sweet tin. Relieves in half the time apparently.

The "Naughty Peter" Donkey game. Never Google the phrase "naughty Peter" with innocence, that's my advice.

And, to wander further into unrelated territory, a photo of my thimble:

My Gran was a dressmaker.  For as long as I knew her, her eyesight was failing and the only memory I have of her sewing involves me sitting beside her once, threading the needle as required, for she could no longer see the eye.  She died when I was sixteen and her grandchildren were told they could take some keepsakes from the house.  I took a cigar box and a few knick-knacks; I also took her thimble.  It fits me perfectly.  I like that symmetry; that she sewed and now I do too even though I never sewed with her; that I have her perfectly fitting thimble. It’s the circle of life – turns out Elton John was right 😉

1 Response to “Ye Oldie Cotton Reels and other Treasures”


  1. 1 petra January 15, 2012 at 10:31

    best post ever! for so many reasons 🙂


All comments welcome:-)

Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

Categories


