Wedding Dresses Print in Progress

Hey folks,

I’m working on a new print at the moment.  It’s based on a photo I took in a cool, old charity shop in Sheffield.  There were all these amazing old wedding dresses hanging from the ceiling…very eerie…

I quite like the image in black and white.  For the past few weeks, I’ve changed the print medium I use.  I usually laminate Photec (a light sensitive film) to an aluminium sheet.  Now because a.) I’ve been meaning to try it for ages and b.) the Photec has been driving me mad and the plates have been looking terrible..-Now, I’m experimenting with Photopolymer Plates.  They are already light sensitive and you just cut them to size.  They are greeny in colour, the other ones are blue.  A bit more expensive but if you do it right they can yield good results.

So, that’ s my latest news.  I’m hoping to get a good, high conrast image which still retains the floatiness of the dresses…

Have a look at some tests below.  Another new thing I’ve been doing is to apply grids to my test sheets on photoshop to help read the results afterwards.  It’s a great help.

Lastly, I’m going to try to figure out something to do with my digital photos…I quite like a lot of them simply as phots and not as prints.  It would be nice to try to start putting them for sale online.  I’ll try to set up a website and an etsy page.  Eek!  Any ideas or advice would be appreciated!  I’ll try to organise my work into a few catagories anyway…different subject matters..a mix of photos and prints..

In the meantime…here are some more test prints and pics.

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK EVERYONE ELSE!  I LOVE SEEING ALL YOUR WONDERFUL STUFF! XXX

Katie x

2 Responses to “Wedding Dresses Print in Progress”


  1. 1 Cécile January 21, 2012 at 22:21

    So eerie, looks like you’ll get something very nice at the end, I’m curious to see it!
    It reminds me the work of this photographer I really like :http://www.corinnemercadier.com/. Have a look at the Glasstypes section.
    It’s a good idea trying to sell your gorgeous pictures.
    Good luck with the experiments and the new shop! xx

  2. 2 onlinesketchpad January 22, 2012 at 12:30

    Oh lordy, those dresses look so creepy! I really like the b/w photo of them, looking forward to seeing the finished product:-)


All comments welcome:-)

Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Categories


