Katie’s Cushion (and Charlie’s too)

I recently made a cushion for my friends’ baby with the baby’s name appliquéd on it. Turned out pretty:-)

I used some off-white broderie angalise (which I bought YEARS ago in Adelaide in Australia- I’m down to the last metre of it now… it served me well!) for the background, and three different cottons for the name and star.

The back is from an old pillowcase from the 70’s.  Classy or wha’!  Imagine that set on your bed:-)

I use butter paper to work out the shape of everything I make (check out all the pencil sketch-lines for the star; it was hard to get it to look well within the dimensions I wanted).  I buy it by the lb for very little- it’s great stuff.

I also made this cushion recently too:

This one was a commission- all the brief stated was that the cushion had to include Charlie’s date and time of birth, and his weight.  The background is a very flimsy pinstripied fabric (which I lined with calico before sewing onto); the green fabrics are linens, and all the letters are cottons.  The plane is made from a piece of an old-lady-style handmade nightdress which I bought for the fabric years ago in a charity shop (I think it cost about 50c- I got metres of fabric from it, it was huge!).

I love the fabric I used for the back.  I bought this fabric on a whim a few years ago, just half a metre; I’d no idea what to use it for.  Charlie’s grandad keeps cattle as a hobby so as as soon as I got the commission I knew which fabric was to be used.  I’m so glad I got to use it to make something for this family.

I like to use buttons that match the general theme on the cushion front.  These are little aeroplanes; for the Katie cushion I wanted to find stars but was in a hurry to get it posted (Katie and her parents live abroad), so I used 3 different old buttons from my extensive collection.

7 Responses to “Katie’s Cushion (and Charlie’s too)”


  1. 1 Raquel February 13, 2012 at 10:43

    Wow… amazing! How detailed, how perfect! Congratulations!

  2. 3 tillyannie February 13, 2012 at 22:16

    Love Charlie’s cushion. Gorgeous.

  3. 4 petra February 13, 2012 at 23:49

    i want to be you. fab! absolutely fab 🙂

  4. 5 Lisa February 16, 2012 at 23:13

    Where do you find the time? Do you have Oompa Loompas?

  5. 7 Cécile February 19, 2012 at 16:31

    Great work Amy! Love the one with the plane! You rock 🙂


All comments welcome:-)

Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Categories


