Another Sketchbook finished!

I know I seemed to drop of the planet for a while there, but like Tricia, I took up Amy’s challenge and added the Sketchbook Project Limited Edition to an already interminable to-do list.  If you want something done, ask a busy person, I guess…

I’ve been wanting to get back into drawing for a while (remember the pop-up shop back before Christmas?).  I’ve had a notion for a while to do a series of portraits of snapshots of ordinary people in my ordinary life doing..well..whatever it is they do. This seemed like the perfect opportunity to let loose and try it out without worrying too much about making something perfect and polished.Image

I allowed myself to start with some found images of interesting people I don’t know, since it’s wa-a-ay easier to self-criticise when you’re not getting a likeness of a face you’ve know and loved for years.

Image

Image

A few got ditched along the way (one shot of my mother with my as a baby kept making her look Asian and/or psychopathic) (my mother is neither), a few took for-EVER and I thought I might never make the deadline.

Image

ImageImage

Creeping back to my comfort zone, I interspersed the drawings with fabrics which I plan to combine somehow with the digital offspring of these ones to make proper, finished mixed media illustrations.  So much for letting loose with gay abandon…!

Image

7 Responses to “Another Sketchbook finished!”


  1. 1 Katie May 2, 2012 at 18:10

    Nice job Lisa! The drawings look cool with the material too. Love that portrait of the cycling person. Keep up the drawing!x

  2. 2 tillyannie May 3, 2012 at 17:46

    Gorgeous. The fabric really sets off the drawings.

  3. 3 thebigfatpeacock May 3, 2012 at 19:01

    Thanks guys! Wan’t sure about the fabric but you’ve set my mind at rest 🙂 and nicely done yourself, Tricia

  4. 4 rubywarner May 5, 2012 at 00:15

    These are beautiful, and yeah i completely agree with the fabric, they really compliment the drawings! Beautiful.

  5. 5 onlinesketchpad May 5, 2012 at 20:15

    Have to agree with Katie, the cycling one is my favourite too:-) Would love to have seen them all- did you photograph them all? Good to hear you’re drawing again! x

  6. 6 thebigfatpeacock May 5, 2012 at 20:53

    All photographed, all awaiting some working into and experimentation!

    The girl on the bike is my friend Jess…what an infectious laugh, huh?


All comments welcome:-)

Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Categories


