Adding My Sketchbook To The Mix…

My idea for The Sketchbook Project Limited Edition morphed quite considerably as I put off working on it (procrastination queen, me).  I began with something I knew I didn’t have time for, a mixed-media idea that I am now working on in a whole other format (I’ll blog about that all in good time).  I decided to stick to a simple book of drawings, and wanted every page to have a maze on it. Essentially I wanted to create a puzzle book I suppose.  BUT.  It felt wrong.  It needed a narrative.  And so Bo and his ball of string was born; inspiration born from a crossword that had a clue about Theseus, Ariadne and the Labyrinth.

I made a little video of the whole storybook.  It’s dead simple and silent, but I hope you like it.

[vimeo https://vimeo.com/41625501]

10 Responses to “Adding My Sketchbook To The Mix…”


  1. 1 Katie May 6, 2012 at 09:15

    AWESOME!!!! Clever idea Amy. The cover is beautiful and the script font is so lovely….these sketchbook are so cool girls. It’s so interesteing to see all your different styles. x

  2. 2 Cécile May 7, 2012 at 07:37

    wow!! Brillant!

  3. 3 marycnasser May 8, 2012 at 16:35

    Amy,
    Your submission to The Sketchbook Project Limited Edition is absolutely amazing! I love your integration of the string into the drawings…that red really pops perfectly!!
    I also wanted to thank you very much for the piece you created for the 4×6 Exchange…I received it yesterday in the mail and think it is fabulous!
    Wishing you all the best from the United States,
    Mary

    • 4 onlinesketchpad May 8, 2012 at 19:21

      Thanks Mary! That’s very kind of you. Ooh, I got all excited when I read your comment- I’m looking forward to seeing what I get (nothing in my mailbox yet!) 🙂 Amy

  4. 6 Lisa May 8, 2012 at 23:45

    Ach, Amy.. no wonder it took up every spare minute you had – it’s gorrrgeous!! Love the wee video too 🙂


  1. 1 Very Exciting…. « onlinesketchpad Trackback on June 21, 2012 at 12:39
  2. 2 Print Exchange Project 2013 « onlinesketchpad Trackback on January 12, 2013 at 23:03
  3. 3 Sketchbook Project 2013 – Wexford Main Street « onlinesketchpad Trackback on January 20, 2013 at 00:42
  4. 4 Sketchbook Project 2014 | onlinesketchpad Trackback on February 8, 2014 at 17:16

All comments welcome:-)

Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Categories


