No Direction Home and other such Adventures

This is a long time coming.  I took 10 days off work in June and went to two festivals and to visit a friend in Doolin; of course I did what I usually do- I took between 3 and 6 cameras with me everywhere.  That’s a lot of photos. I’ve wanted to post some of the more interesting ones here, but,  dilemma!  Do I put them all in lots of separate little posts (for example, one that puts the emphasis on the new pinhole camera I made, one for Holga etc…) or do I put them in categories (for example, one for Doolin, one for Forbidden Fruit etc…)?  *SIGH*

This evening I say “FECK YOU, INDECISION!”  Be prepared for a long, rambling look at a very fun ten days in my life at the beginning of “summer” (yes Summer, you get inverted commas, for rain everyday does not a summer make.  Tut.) all in one post.  I am such a rebel.

*All the above taken at Forbidden Fruit with Holga SF, or Nikon Coolpix S3100, or a home-made matchbox Pin Hole Camera, made using these instructions.

*All the above were taken on Inis Oírr, which is the baby Aran Island; same cameras as before.

*Above photos of Emma’s wee house and gardens; all take with Pinhole or Holga SF

*Above photos taken near the pier in Doolin.  The waves were simply awesome.  I could quite happily have sat all day watching them.  I love moving water so much. Cameras: Nikon Coolpix and Holga SF.

*Above all taken at No Direction Home Festival at Welbeck Abbey, in Sherwood Forest no less.  A brilliant weekend, but the photos lie about the weather!  We got lovely sun, but did see a lot of rain too… Cameras: Holga SF, La Sardinia Sapphire Serpent (I am reading the Eragon Inheritance books at the moment- this is the colour I imagine Saphira’s scales to be…), the Pinhole and Nikon Coolpix.  I also had my Lomo Fisheye, but no decent photos from that.  Just too grey most of the time; it prefers more sun.

*A teashop in Bakewell, a village with the oldest mean age of visitor I have EVER seen.  We were babies compared to everyone else visiting that day.  Yes, we ordered some bakewell tart.  Taken with the La Sardinia using its bulb setting for the very first time (it’s my new baby). 

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “No Direction Home and other such Adventures”


  1. 1 Lisa August 20, 2012 at 08:50

    Oh, Amy, these are so lovely…wish I could have been there

  2. 3 Cécile August 21, 2012 at 12:08

    Really love the first pics and the one with the pink boots and flowers is so delicate. Looks like in ten days you crossed the world!


  1. 1 My Favourite Part of My Favourite Map « Snaps & Cartography Trackback on October 29, 2012 at 17:24

All comments welcome:-)

Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

Categories


