40 years and counting…..

Last year my aunt asked me to make a cake for her  40th Wedding Anniversary. I wanted to do something special for them so I went back to their early days. They met while Eileen was still training as a nurse and Steve was in the navy.

My inspiration was the famous photograph ” The Kiss ” taken in Times Square on VJ Day in 1945. Although I had used sugar paste icing to make flowers before my skills just yet weren’t up to a true re-creation….however I am still very proud of the cake I created. The bottom layer madeira and the top a rich chocolate cake

Image

Mmmm yes, if you look closely you may see a salt and pepper shaker holding up the couple but these are the things that make an occasion more memorable!!

Image

2 Responses to “40 years and counting…..”


  1. 1 Amy January 13, 2013 at 20:07

    Well, if the chocolate cake is anything like the one you made for your Mam’s birthday, then I KNOW how amazing it tasted:-)
    Looks brill Chaz, and welcome aboard!

  2. 2 Katie January 14, 2013 at 00:00

    Oh that is so well made Chaz! Amazing job!


All comments welcome:-)

Read our previous posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Categories


